Käte Hamburger Kolleg

Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe

KHK—Project Site

The Käte Hamburger Center Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe, headed by Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research of Germany, has started working in April 2008. Within the center, 49 researchers from 13 academic disciplines are working on 28 individual projects. In addition, up to ten fellowships are granted to scholars from all over the world each year.

Researchers from Bochum's university disciplines like East Asian Studies, South Asian Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Protestant and Catholic Theology, Classical Philology and History, in close cooperation with Religious Studies, investigate the dynamics of formation and spread of religions, the interaction between different religious traditions as well as their densification within the complex structures of the so-called “world religions” in Asia and Europe. A special focus lies on the relational constellations in the emergence of the religious field. Based on this premise, cultural and religious traditions can be described as a combination of ongoing processes of orientation and exchange.

Methodologically, the Käte Hamburger Center combines material and systematic research on religion both in a synchronic and in a diachronic perspective. Accordingly, the work is structured, on the one hand, in historical research fields dedicated to formation, expansion and globalization of religious tradition as well as to the development of specific terminology. On the other hand, we will examine recurring analogous religious phenomena like “secrecy” or “purity” (with their differing modes of integration, ascription, and exclusion) that act as attractors of religious community formations. Both approaches mutually complement each other in the comparative examination of religious semantics and of the formation of religious concepts and ideas.

One of the scientific objectives of the Consortiums based on this relational approach is the formulation of a systematic typology of religious contacts, and the formulation of a comprehensive theory of religious transfer which includes both the interrelations between religious impetuses and the dynamics of intrareligious dissents.

Funded by

Director

Affiliated Persons

image of Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Prof. Dr. Kianoosh Rezania

Director

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.10
+49 234 32-21979
kianoosh.rezania@rub.de
image of Julia Heinig M.A.

Julia Heinig M.A.

Research Associate

image of Thomas Jurczyk M.A.

Thomas Jurczyk M.A.

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.11
+49 234 32-21684
er-contact@rub.de
image of PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

PD Dr. Knut Martin Stünkel

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.05
+49 234 32-21993
knut.stuenkel@gmx.net
AA

Dr. Anna Ayșe Akasoy

Former Fellow

akasoy@gmx.net
AA

Prof. Dr. Aziz Al-Azmeh

Former Fellow

aziza@ceu.hu
NA

Prof. Dr. Nadia Al-Bagdadi

Former Fellow

AA

Dr. Abhishek Singh Amar

Former Fellow

aamar@hamilton.edu
image of Prof. Dr. Sahar Amer

Prof. Dr. Sahar Amer

Former Fellow

saharamer@gmail.com
CA

Dr. Christoph Anderl

Former Fellow

christoph.anderl@rub.de
CA

Prof. Dr. Dr. Christoph Auffarth

Former Fellow

CB

Prof. Dr. Christopher I. Beckwith

Former Fellow

christopher.beckwith@rub.de
AB

Prof. Dr. Andreas Bendlin

Former Fellow

andreas.bendlin@rub.de
NB

Dr. Nora Berend

Former Fellow

nb213@cam.ac.uk
image of Prof. Dr. Stephen Carl  Berkwitz

Prof. Dr. Stephen Carl Berkwitz

Former Fellow

stephenberkwitz@missouristate.edu
JB

Prof. em. Dr. Jan Nicolaas Bremmer

Former Fellow

j.n.bremmer@rug.nl
image of Dr. Cathy Cantwell

Dr. Cathy Cantwell

Former Fellow

catherine.cantwell@rub.de
IC

Prof. Dr. Izak Cornelius

Former Fellow

sakkie@sun.ac.za
image of Prof. Dr. Alexandra Cuffel

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Cuffel

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.07
+49 234 32-22336
alexandra.cuffel@rub.de
IC

PD Dr. István Czachesz

Former Fellow

istvan.czachesz@gmail.com
image of Prof. Dr. Max Deeg

Prof. Dr. Max Deeg

Former Fellow

deegm1@cardiff.ac.uk
BD

Prof. Dr. Bettina Dennerlein

Former Fellow

bettina.dennerlein@aoi.uzh.ch
LD

Dr. Lucia Dolce

Former Fellow

ld16@soas.ac.uk
SD

Dr. Svevo D'Onofrio

Former Fellow

svevo.donofrio@rub.de
image of Dr. Ruth Ebach

Dr. Ruth Ebach

Former Fellow

ruth.ebach@uni-tuebingen.de
image of Assoc. Prof. Ana María  Echevarría Arsuaga

Assoc. Prof. Ana María Echevarría Arsuaga

Former Fellow

aechevarria@geo.uned.es
JE

Prof. Dr. Johan Elverskog

Former Fellow

johan@smu.edu
SE

Prof. Dr. Stephen Eskildsen

Former Fellow

steve.eskildsen@gmail.com
image of Dr. Grégoire Espesset

Dr. Grégoire Espesset

Former Fellow

gresp@yahoo.com
PF

Prof. Dr. Paul Fenton

Former Fellow

paul.fenton@paris-sorbonne.fr
image of Dr. Marianna Ferrara

Dr. Marianna Ferrara

Former Fellow

marianna.ferrara@uniroma1.it
image of Dr. Luiz Fernando Ferreira da Rosa Ribeiro

Dr. Luiz Fernando Ferreira da Rosa Ribeiro

Former Fellow

nalandanusantara@gmail.com
PF

Dr. Paolo Filigheddu

Former Fellow

paolo.filigheddu@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Erika Forte

Prof. Dr. Erika Forte

Former Fellow

Institute for Research in Humanities at Kyoto University
 
erika.forte@zinbun.kyoto-u.ac.jp
OF

Prof. Dr. Oliver Freiberger

Former Fellow

of@austin.utexas.edu
YF

Prof. Dr. Youde Fu

Former Fellow

ydfu@sdu.edu.cn
KG

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Karl Galinsky

Former Fellow

galinsky@mail.utexas.edu
image of Dr. Ophira Gamliel

Dr. Ophira Gamliel

Former Fellow

ophira.gamliel@rub.de
image of Dr. Vladimir Glomb

Dr. Vladimir Glomb

Former Fellow

vladous2000@yahoo.com
image of Dr. Jennifer Griggs

Dr. Jennifer Griggs

Former Fellow

jennifergriggs@outlook.com
image of Prof. Dr. Thomas Großbölting

Prof. Dr. Thomas Großbölting

Former Fellow

thomas.grossboelting@uni-muenster.de
image of Dr. Mareile Haase

Dr. Mareile Haase

Former Fellow

mareile.haase@utoronto.ca
GH

Dr. Georgios Halkias

Former Fellow

georgios.halkias@rub.de
image of Assist. Prof. Rabia Harmansah

Assist. Prof. Rabia Harmansah

Former Fellow

rabia.harmansah@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Hartmann

Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Hartmann

Former Fellow

juhartmann@lmu.de
JH

Dr. Jan-Peter Hartung

Former Fellow

TH

Prof. Dr. Thomas Hauschild

Former Fellow

thomas.hauschild@rub.de
HH

Prof. Dr. Heinz Georg Held

Former Fellow

hg.held@unipv.it
AH

Dr. Alexander Henn

Former Fellow

alexander.henn@asu.edu
GH

Dr. Geoffrey Herman

Former Fellow

RH

Prof. Dr. Ronnie Po-Chia Hsia

Former Fellow

rxh46@psu.edu
image of Dr. Eduard Iricinschi

Dr. Eduard Iricinschi

Former Fellow

eduard.iricinschi@rub.de
JI

Prof. Dr. Jun'ichi Isomae

Former Fellow

icb74921@nifty.com
SJ

Dr. Sukman Jang

Former Fellow

sukman.jang@rub.de
DJ

Dr. Damien Janos

Former Fellow

djanos@uni-goettingen.de
JJ

Dr. Jason Ānanda Josephson

Former Fellow

jason.a.josephson@williams.edu
MJ

Prof. Dr. Matthias Jung

Former Fellow

image of Dr. Markéta Kabůrková

Dr. Markéta Kabůrková

Former Fellow

kaburk@gmail.com
image of Dr. Maijastina Kahlos

Dr. Maijastina Kahlos

Former Fellow

maijastina.kahlos@helsinki.fi
OK

Prof. Dr. Otto Kallscheuer

Former Fellow

image of PD Dr. Yukiyo Kasai

PD Dr. Yukiyo Kasai

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.08
+49 234 32-21683
yukiyo.kasai@rub.de
image of Dr. Irina R. Katkova

Dr. Irina R. Katkova

Former Fellow

katkova_irina@yahoo.com
image of Prof. Dr. Terry F. Kleeman

Prof. Dr. Terry F. Kleeman

Former Fellow

terry.kleeman@colorado.edu
image of Apl. Prof. Dr. Adam Knobler

Apl. Prof. Dr. Adam Knobler

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.07
+49 234 32-22336
adam.knobler@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Eva Kocziszky

Prof. Dr. Eva Kocziszky

Former Fellow

kocziszky.eva@iif.hu
image of Dr. Götz König

Dr. Götz König

Former Fellow

goetz.koenig@rub.de
OK

Dr. Olga Kozubska

Former Fellow

olga.kozubska@rub.de
image of Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Dr. Patrick Felix Krüger

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21958
patrick.krueger@rub.de
YK

Dr. Ya-Pei Kuo

Former Fellow

ya-pei.kuo@rub.de
BL

Dr. Bérénice Lagarce-Othman

Former Fellow

berenicelagarce@yahoo.fr
image of Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Former Fellow

susanne.lanwerd@rub.de
image of Apl. Prof. Dr. Vasco La Salvia

Apl. Prof. Dr. Vasco La Salvia

Former Fellow

vasco.lasalvia@unich.it
ML

Prof. Dr. Ming-huei Lee

Former Fellow

lmhuei@hotmail.tw
image of Prof. Dr. Massimo Leone

Prof. Dr. Massimo Leone

Former Fellow

massimo.leone@unito.it
image of Prof. Dr. Rebecca Lesses

Prof. Dr. Rebecca Lesses

Former Fellow

rlesses@ithaca.edu
GL

Prof. Dr. Gesche Linde

Former Fellow

gesche.linde@rub.de
image of Dr. Beate Löffler

Dr. Beate Löffler

Former Fellow

TU Dortmund, August-Schmidt-Str. 6
44227  Dortmund
Office Campus Süd GB I, Raum 208
+49 231 755-7930
beate.loeffler@tu-dortmund.de
CM

Prof. Dr. Christopher MacEvitt

Former Fellow

christopher.macevitt@rub.de
image of Dr. Claire R. Maes

Dr. Claire R. Maes

Former Fellow

claire.maes@austin.utexas.edu
AM

Dr. Al Makin

Former Fellow

VM

Prof. Dr. Vasilios Makrides

Former Fellow

vasilios.makrides@uni-erfurt.de
AM

Prof. Dr. Angelika Malinar

Former Fellow

angelika.malinar@aoi.uzh.ch
image of Dr. Margherita Mantovani

Dr. Margherita Mantovani

Former Fellow

margherita.mantovani@uniroma1.it
RM

Prof. Dr. Robert Mayer

Former Fellow

robert.mayer@rub.de
AM

Dr. Andrew McDowell

Former Fellow

image of Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.05
+49 234 32-28783
carmen.meinert@rub.de
AM

Prof. Dr. Arie L. Molendijk

Former Fellow

arie.molendijk@rub.de
image of Assist. Prof. Hossein Najari

Assist. Prof. Hossein Najari

Former Fellow

najari.shirazu@gmail.com
image of Dr. Elena Narinskaya

Dr. Elena Narinskaya

Former Fellow

elenarinskaya@yahoo.co.uk
JN

Dr. Jason Neelis

Former Fellow

jneelis@wlu.ca
CN

Assoc. Prof. Christophe Nihan

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.08
christophe.nihan@unil.ch
SO

Prof. Dr. Sung-Deuk Oak

Former Fellow

oaksung@gmail.com
KO

PD Dr. Khanna Omarkhali (Usoyan)

Former Fellow

kusoyan@uni-goettingen.de
image of PD Dr. Bernd-Christian Otto

PD Dr. Bernd-Christian Otto

Former Fellow

bernd.otto@uni-erfurt.de
image of Dr. Maryam Palizban

Dr. Maryam Palizban

Former Fellow

ritual.nara@gmail.com
image of Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Prof. Dr. Martin Papenheim

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.14
martin.papenheim@rub.de
IP

Prof. Dr. Istvan Perczel

Former Fellow

perczeli@ceu.hu
image of PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

PD Dr. Rosel Pientka-Hinz

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21969
rosel.pientka-hinz@rub.de
KP

Dr. Ksenia Pimenova

Former Fellow

ksenia.pimenova@gmail.com
image of Prof. Dr. Zaroui Pogossian

Prof. Dr. Zaroui Pogossian

Former Fellow

zaroui.pogossian@rub.de
image of Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.04
+49 234 32-22955
jessie.pons@rub.de
SR

Prof. Dr. Stephen H. Rapp

Former Fellow

shr002@shsu.edu
image of Dr. Imke Rath

Dr. Imke Rath

Former Fellow

rath@gei.de
PR

Dr. Philipp Reichling

Former Fellow

philipp.reichling@rub.de
AR

Prof. Dr. Adele Reinhartz

Former Fellow

adele.reinhartz@uOttawa.ca
AR

Prof. Dr. Amy Remensnyder

Former Fellow

amy_remensnyder@Brown.edu
image of Dr. Sebastian Rimestad

Dr. Sebastian Rimestad

Former Fellow

sebastian.rimestad@uni-erfurt.de
PR

Dr. Pierre-Emmanuel Roux

Former Fellow

pieru79@gmail.com
image of Prof. Dr. Ian Rutherford

Prof. Dr. Ian Rutherford

Former Fellow

i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk
image of Dr. Ivan Sablin

Dr. Ivan Sablin

Former Fellow

ivan.sablin@gmail.com
PS

Prof. Dr. Paolo Santangelo

Former Fellow

paolo.santangelo@uniroma1.it
image of PD Dr. Magnus Schlette

PD Dr. Magnus Schlette

Former Fellow

magnus.schlette@fest-heidelberg.de
image of Dr. Jesko Schmoller

Dr. Jesko Schmoller

Former Fellow

jeskoschmoller@gmail.com
image of Dr. Anna-Konstanze Schröder

Dr. Anna-Konstanze Schröder

Former Fellow

anna.schroeder@ager.unibe.ch
image of Dr. Anna Sehnalova

Dr. Anna Sehnalova

Former Fellow

anna.sehnalova13@gmail.com
image of Assoc. Prof. Mustafa Şen

Assoc. Prof. Mustafa Şen

Former Fellow

senmusti@metu.edu.tr
CS

Prof. Dr. Chun Shan

Former Fellow

shanchun56@yahoo.cn
image of Prof. Dr. Weirong Shen

Prof. Dr. Weirong Shen

Former Fellow

shenweirong@yahoo.com
image of Dr. Ying Ruo Show

Dr. Ying Ruo Show

Former Fellow

yrshow@gmail.com
image of Assist. Prof. Caleb Simmons

Assist. Prof. Caleb Simmons

Former Fellow

calebsimmons@email.arizona.edu
image of Dr. Iain Sinclair

Dr. Iain Sinclair

Former Fellow

i_sinclair@outlook.com
image of Prof. Dr. Kirill Solonin

Prof. Dr. Kirill Solonin

Former Fellow

Renmin University of China
Beijing  
kirill_solonin@mail.ru
image of Dr. Henrik Hjort Sørensen

Dr. Henrik Hjort Sørensen

Former Fellow

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.08
+49 234 32-21683
hensor@hotmail.com
image of Assoc. Prof. Jesper Frøkjær Sørensen

Assoc. Prof. Jesper Frøkjær Sørensen

Former Fellow

jsn@cas.au.dk
ES

Dr. Eszter Spät

Former Fellow

spateszter@yahoo.com
TS

Prof. Dr. Tulasi Srinivas

Former Fellow

Tulasi_Srinivas@emerson.edu
image of Dr. Susanne Stadlbauer

Dr. Susanne Stadlbauer

Former Fellow

susanne.stadlbauer@rub.de
image of Jun.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Stein Kokin

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Stein Kokin

Former Fellow

daniel.steinkokin@uni-greifswald.de
AS

Prof. em. Dr. Aslam Syed

Former Fellow

image of Dr. Giovanni  Tarantino

Dr. Giovanni Tarantino

Former Fellow

giovanni.tarantino@uwa.edu.au
image of Assist. Prof. Juan Manuel Tebes

Assist. Prof. Juan Manuel Tebes

Former Fellow

juan_tebes@uca.edu.ar
image of PD Dr. Levent Tezcan

PD Dr. Levent Tezcan

Former Fellow

levent.tezcan@rub.de
image of Dr. Davide Torri

Dr. Davide Torri

Former Fellow

davide.torri@asia-europe.uni-heidelberg.de
Pv

Prof. Dr. Peter van Rooden

Former Fellow

p.t.vanrooden@uva.nl
CV

Dr. des. Cornelius Vollmer

Former Fellow

BW

Barry Dov Walfish PhD

Former Fellow

barry.walfish@utoronto.ca
image of Prof. em. Dr. Boudewijn Walraven

Prof. em. Dr. Boudewijn Walraven

Former Fellow

b.c.a.walraven@hum.leidenuniv.nl
image of Prof. Dr. James Watts

Prof. Dr. James Watts

Former Fellow

jwwatts@syr.edu
IW

Dr. Ines Weinrich

Former Fellow

inesweinrich@web.de
image of Dr. Tim Weitzel

Dr. Tim Weitzel

Former Fellow

tim.weitzel@uni-konstanz.de
DW

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Weltecke

Former Fellow

dorothea.weltecke@rub.de
JW

Dr. Joan Westenholz

Former Fellow

jgoodwest@gmail.com
GW

Prof. Dr. Gerard Wiegers

Former Fellow

g.a.wiegers@uva.nl
image of Dr. Michael  Willis

Dr. Michael Willis

Former Fellow

michael.willis@rub.de
SW

Dr. Sylvia Winkelmann

Former Fellow

image of Dr. Walter Edward Young

Dr. Walter Edward Young

Former Fellow

walter.young@mail.mcgill.ca
image of Dr. Mohsen Zakeri

Dr. Mohsen Zakeri

Former Fellow

mohsen.zakeri@rub.de
image of Dr. Linda Zampol D'Ortia

Dr. Linda Zampol D'Ortia

Former Fellow

l.zampol.dortia@gmail.com
HZ

Prof. Dr. Dr. Helmut Zander

Former Fellow

helmut.zander@rub.de
MZ

Prof. Dr. Markus Zehnder

Former Fellow

zehnder@ansgarskolen.no
MZ

Prof. Dr. Monika Zin

Former Fellow

m.zin@t-online.de
IZ

Prof. Dr. Ines G. Zupanov

Former Fellow

zupanov@ehess.fr
image of Franziska Burstyn M.A.

Franziska Burstyn M.A.

Event Management

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 4.11
+49 234 32-21981
ceres-coordination-office@rub.de
image of Ulf Plessentin M.A.

Ulf Plessentin M.A.

PR Manager

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.08
+49 234 32-22056
ulf.plessentin@rub.de
image of Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Dr. Licia Di Giacinto

Former Employee

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.14
+49 234 32-21992
licia.digiacinto@rub.de
HK

Prof. Dr. Hans Martin Krämer

Former Employee

hans.martin.kraemer@rub.de
MS

Dr. Marion Steinicke

Former Employee

marion.steinicke@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 1/46
+49 234 32-25572
marion.eggert@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

Prof. Dr. Christian Frevel

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 7/149
+49 234 32-22611
christian.frevel@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Glei

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/162
+49 234 32-22761 / -28761
reinhold.glei@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Lucian Hölscher

Prof. Dr. Lucian Hölscher

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-24691
lucian.hoelscher@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.12
+49 234 32-22395
volkhard.krech@rub.de
SR

Prof. Dr. Stefan Reichmuth

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GB 2/38
+49 234 32-25125
stefan.reichmuth@rub.de
HR

Prof. Dr. Heiner Roetz

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.14
+49 234 32-21973
heiner.roetz@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Peter Wick

Prof. Dr. Peter Wick

RUB Member

Universitätsstr. 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 8/148
+49 234 32-28103
peter.wick@rub.de
AA

Ava Asiaii B.A.

Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.13
ava.asiaii@rub.de
BF

Balaj Fazal

Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 2.13
+49 234 32-21984
balaj.fazal@rub.de
AK

Alina Krentz B.A.

Assistant

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
+492343222056
alina.krentz@rub.de
MD

Dr. Meghan DiLuzio

Former Visting Fellow

meghan_diluzio@baylor.edu
GP

Prof. Dr. Guoxiang Peng

Former Visting Fellow