Project NORFACE Capacity

"Network for the Investigation of Religious Pluralism in Europe"

Unlike the United States, European countries hardly look back on centuries of religious diversity. Questions like how to encourage a culture of mutual acceptance between different religious currents, on their ideological and structural boundaries, or whether the co-existence of different religious traditions can best be realized through dialogue, acculturation, indifference or amalgamation are not only relevant for academic discourse. The analysis of the respective conditions is of fundamental relevance for the European integration process.

The NORFACE Capacity Building project Network for the Investigation of Religious Pluralism in Europe aims at increasing cooperation of European research in this field. However, the project is not only one further building block to create an international network of religious studies in Bochum; it also stresses the role of empirical research on religion and its importance for the future set-up of social-political conditions in an international context.

Since its founding, the Capacity Building Project has tried to integrate topic-oriented research on a European level that enable the project partners to communicate and to share information on and experience from national research projects.

The activities of the Capacity Building Project can be divided into three components:

An international conference on “Religious Pluralisation in Europe - Conditions, Dimensions and Consequences“, held in October 2009 in Bochum, brought together all members of the Capacity Program and further researchers working in this field.

A homepage (www.plureligion.net) has been established to present the Capacity Building Project. It not only informs on religious pluralization as such, but also display research results.

The Capacity Building Project offered a summer school held in Bochum in July 2010. The summer school was primarily directed to young researchers working on religious pluralization.

Website

» Homepage of the plureligion network

Funded by

norface

Affiliated Persons

image of Ulf Plessentin M.A.

Ulf Plessentin M.A.

Coordination

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.08
+49 234 32-22056
ulf.plessentin@rub.de
MA

Dr. Mette Andersson

Cooperation Partner

WB

Whittney Barth

Cooperation Partner

MB

Prof. Dr. Martin Baumann

Cooperation Partner

martin.baumann@unilu.ch
LB

Prof. Dr. Lori Beaman

Cooperation Partner

lbeaman@uOttawa.ca
DB

Dr. Daan Beekers

Cooperation Partner

SB

Dr. Steph Berns

Cooperation Partner

s.berns@lancaster.ac.uk
PB

Prof. Dr. Peter Beyer

Cooperation Partner

pbeyer@uottawa.ca

Dr. Aleš Črnič

Cooperation Partner

ales.crnic@fdv.uni-lj.si
SD

Steffen Dix PhD

Cooperation Partner

sdix@ics.ul.pt
SH

Prof. Dr. Stefan Huber

Cooperation Partner

stefan.huber@theol.unibe.ch
KK

Dr. Kimmo Ketola

Cooperation Partner

kimmo.ketola@evl.fi
KK

Prof. Dr. Kim Knott

Cooperation Partner

k.knott@lancs.ac.uk
image of Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Cooperation Partner

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.12
+49 234 32-22395
volkhard.krech@rub.de
image of Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Prof. Dr. Susanne Lanwerd

Cooperation Partner

susanne.lanwerd@rub.de
TM

Dr. Tuomas Antti Kristian Martikainen

Cooperation Partner

tuomas.martikainen@abo.fi
BM

Prof. Dr. Birgit Meyer

Cooperation Partner

b.meyer@uu.nl
AN

Prof. Dr. Alexander-Kenneth Nagel

Cooperation Partner

MQ

Assoc. Prof. Marianne Christine Qvortrup Fibiger

Cooperation Partner

mf@teo.au.dk
image of Dr. Jens Schlamelcher

Dr. Jens Schlamelcher

Cooperation Partner

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.06
+49 234 32-24807
jens.schlamelcher@rub.de
MS

Dr. Marjan Smrke

Cooperation Partner

marjan.smrke@guest.arnes.si
AU

Asonzeh Ukah

Cooperation Partner

asonzeh.ukah@uct.ac.za
FU

Frank Usarski

Cooperation Partner

usarski@pucsp.br
MV

Marie Vejrup Nielsen

Cooperation Partner

mvn@cas.au.dk
LW

Linda Woodhead

Cooperation Partner

l.woodhead@lancs.ac.uk