From 2009 trough 2014, the young researchers' group Networking Religion – Civic and Economic Potentials of Religious Communities was hosted by the Center for Religious Studies (CERES) of Ruhr Universität Bochum. It was led by Prof. Dr. Alexander-Kenneth Nagel. The group gave six young reseachers a framework for their own PhD projects in the field of religoin and migration. The group was sponsored by the Ministry of Innovation, Science, Research and Technology (Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie - MIWFT) of the German federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Innovative Research on Religion & Migration

The group combined innovative research in the field of religion and migration with the structured and active support of young scientific professionals.

In group's collaborative efforts, productive contributions of religious communities to modern societies of immigration were focused. Underlying the research was the hypothesis that religion is considerably conducive to giving home to migrants. However, this contribution is not adequately being accounted for in political and academic debates. In the research group, this limited point of view was challenged by empirical case studies concerning the potentials of migrant religions in the realm of civil society. These potentials included material and financial support as well as youth work or work with the elderly, educational opportunities, assistance in administrative formalities and, last but not least, political organizations and interest groups.

In this framework, the young researchers especifically focused on the networks of religious migrant communities by explicitly refering to relations of trust and support inside these communities on the one hand and their external networking on the other hand, e.g. relationships with government facilities or other religious groups. In order to analyze social interconnections in and beyond religious migrant communities, traditional methods of empirical social research with network analytical approaches were combined.


2009 - 2014

Funded by

Start

gruppenfoto_vernetzt.jpg
Die Nachwuchsforschergruppe Religion vernetzt – Zivilgesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Potentiale religiöser Vergemeinschaftung forschte von 2009 bis 2014 am Centrum für Religionswissenschaftliche Studien (CERES) der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Sie wurde von Prof. Dr. Alexander-Kenneth Nagel geleitete und bot sechs jungen Wissenschaftler/innen die Möglichkeit, mit eigenen Forschungsprojekten zum Thema Religion und Migration zu promovieren. Die Nachwuchsforschergruppe wurde vom Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie (MIWFT) des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalens gefördert.

Innovative Forschung zu Religion und Migration

Ziel der Nachwuchsforschergruppe war es, innovative Forschung zum Themenkomplex Religion und Migration mit strukturierter und aktiver Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses zu verbinden.

Im Mittelpunkt der gemeinsamen Forschungsvorhaben stand die Frage, welchen produktiven Beitrag Religionsgemeinschaften in modernen Einwanderungsgesellschaften beisteuern können: Religion, so die These, leistet einen nicht zu unterschätzenden Beitrag zur Unterstützung und Beheimatung von Migrant/innen. Dieser Beitrag wird allerdings in der politischen und akademischen Debatte oft nicht hinreichend wahrgenommen. In der Nachwuchsforschergruppe wurde diesem Wahrnehmungsproblem mit empirischen Fallstudien zu den zivilgesellschaftlichen Potentialen von Migrantenreligionen begegnet. Als zivilgesellschaftliche Potentiale wurden materielle und geldwerte Unterstützungsleistungen ebenso wie Jugend- oder Altenarbeit, Bildungsangebote, Hilfe bei Behördengängen und nicht zuletzt politische Organisation und Interessenvertretung verstanden.

Der spezielle Fokus der Nachwuchsforschergruppe lag dabei auf den Netzwerken religiöser Migrantengemeinden. Mit Neztwerken sind in diesem Fall die Vertrauens- und Unterstützungbeziehungen innerhalb dieser Gemeinschaften gemeint sowie ihre Vernetzung nach außen, z. B. mit staatlichen Stellen oder anderen religiösen Gruppen. Um die sozialen Verflechtungen innerhalb und außerhalb religiöser Migrantengemeinden zu erforschen, wurden herkömmliche Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung mit netzwerkanalytischen Ansätzen kombiniert.

Förderzeitraum

2009 - 2014

Gefördert durch

NRW_miwf_logo.png